US fashion company Ralph Lauren has withdrawn its threat of legal
action against the owner of Woldingham Saddlery and Harness Center
in Surrey who owns the domain name po-lo.com and uses it to attract
traffic for his saddlery web site.
Lawyers for Ralph Lauren recently threatened Collingridge with
action for “infringement, false advertising and dilution of our
client’s valuable Polo Trademarks.”
Keith Collingridge, the owner of the saddlery centre and the
domain name, said he has since received a letter from Ralph
Lauren’s lawyers which explained that after reviewing his site,
they had decided against further action “at this time”.
Visitors to po-lo.com now see the following message:
“This is an Equestrian web site. If you have
arrived here by mistake, you may have been looking for one of the
sites below which also use the word POLO in their products and/or
web site name. (We are not related to the following organisations
in any way)”
The site links to the sites of Ralph Lauren, Volkswagen (Polo
cars) and Nestle (Polo Mints).