Cookies on Pinsent Masons website

Our website uses cookies and similar technologies to allow us to promote our services and enhance your browsing experience. If you continue to use our website you agree to our use of cookies.

To understand more about how we use cookies, or for information on how to change your cookie settings, please see our Cookie Policy.

EU and EEA countries agree on cross-border automated transport tests

Twenty nine European countries, made up of members of the European Union and of the European Economic Area, have agreed to increase cooperation on testing connected and autonomous vehicles.28 Mar 2017

At the end of last year the automotive and telecom industries created a European Alliance of Telecoms and Automotive to develop cross-border testing of connectivity and automation for road transport in real traffic conditions, the European Commission said.

The countries have now agreed to work together to create testing corridors, and to make radio spectrum available for tests. The Commission hopes the trials will also encourage the introduction of 5G wireless communication, it said

As a first step the Commission will create an inventory of all the existing cross border activity and related policies, it said.

Earlier this year France and Germany agreed to build a cross-border test corridor between two neighbouring regions, Lorraine and Saarland.

"This is a first step to be expanded and followed by other member states and regions. The cross-border dimension is of paramount importance to ensure interoperability all over Europe and avoid having vehicles stopped when they reach a border," the Commission said.

Countries who have signed the letter of intent are: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.